Music News w/e 13/03/09



Bookmark and Share

Alcoholics Unanimous By Art Brut

“Alcoholics Unanimous” is the first single from the new Art Brut vs. Satan, produced by Frank Black. Order it here



The Filthy Dukes are giving away a song for free, and letting you listen to their debut album on MySpace to boot.

Download Light Skips Cross Heart as a 320kbps MP3 for free by clicking here

Light Skips Cross Heart is featured on Filthy Dukes‘ debut album, Nonsense in the Dark, out next Monday 16 March 2009.

Listen to Nonsense in the Dark in its entirety at MySpace now

Current single, This Rhythm, and previous single, Tupac Robot Club also feature.



Ilya K release new single from their electric/eclectic debut album
“Anaesthesia Ad Infinitum”.

“She’s Got the Loneliest Eyes” By Ilya K

Released on DeKay Records “She’s Got The Loneliest Eyes (in the world)” will be available for download only from (users can text music 2483 to 57501) and i-tunes.   This is the third single release from the album and features guest vocalist Aisling Browne.

The song was written by guitarist Niall Cuddy during a trip to Morocco.  He felt empathy towards the role of the donkey in Africa and indeed Ireland in by-gone years. The donkey, Niall feels, is the unsung hero of society and carries a great burden (physically as well as metaphorically) with very little reward and is in-fact usually treated quite badly by it’s master. The donkey, however, carries on in silent pilgrimage, a martyr to the cause and the greater good of mankind!

What they said about “Anaesthesia Ad Infinitum”

Intoxicating debut, a heady mix of Beach Boys’ melodies with a healthy slice of lunacy thrown in for good measure…It makes for a great listen 4/5 – HOTPRESS

With their out of the box thinking and infectiousness present, such is the overall standard that we’ve no doubt this will propel them on to the stardom they fully deserve – THE STAR



Did It” By Poppy And Friends

22 Mar – 20:00 – Bristol – The Junction
21 Apr – 20:00 – Newport – The Meze Lounge
28 Apr – 20:00 – London – The 100 Club, supporting Darren Hayman
23 Jun – 20:00 – Bath – The Porter Cellar Bar
26 Jun – 23:45 – Glasto Festivo – Clapped Out Stage
27 Jun – ??Confused? – Glasto Festivo – The Bandstand time tba
28 Jun – ??Confused? – Glasto Festivo – stage and time tba
23 Oct – 20:00 – Frome – Acoustic Plus, Cheese and Grain



“The New Royal Family Rule Ok” By The New Royal Family

Download here (right click save as)

North London’s leading crap novelty punk band super group, The New Royal Family  release the follow up to their cult single “Anyone Fancy A Chocolate Digestive?” which was voted the best single of 2007 by Germany’s Radio OK Bremen and described by the Radio Times as “Brazen British Stupidity.

Boasting a revolving line up currently including members of such minor Indie legends as Salad, Gay Dad, The Boyfriends, Linus, Luxembourg and someone who once drummed for the Monochrome Set,  the merry pranksters release a three track single as a FREE download and limited edition CD via


Retro Song Of The Week

Astley In The Noose” By The Wonder Stuff

<a href=""></a>

When the Wonder Stuff released their first album, The Eight Legged Groove Machine, in 1988, the British press wrote scores of articles about the band, mainly because of the arrogant self-confidence of their leader, vocalist/guitarist Miles Hunt. Hunt’s brash public image was the Wonder Stuff personified — mean, self-satisfied, self-serving, and scathingly witty. Accordingly, their colorful mixture of pop melodies, loud guitars, sneering lyrics, and touches of dance music was sometimes brilliant and sometimes banal. Between 1988 and 1993, the band kept incorporating more stylistic flourishes to their basic, punk- and new wave-inspired pop/rock. The Wonder Stuff  were instant stars in England; America never warmed to their music. After trying to gain a worldwide audience for five years, the band broke up in 1994. In the early 2000s the band regrouped to play five nights of concerts at London’s Forum (as documented on the 2001 live set Cursed with Insincerity) and then continued to play festivals throughout 2001 and 2002. After some squabbles over the direction of the band, half the members quit. Hunt and original guitarist Malcolm Treece decided to carry on and, after adding Andres Karu , Mark McCarthy and  Erica  Nockalls recorded and released Escape from Rubbish Island in 2004 and Suspended by Stars in 2006.

Bookmark and Share

Andy Von Pip

ANDY VON PIP - Founder, editor, writer, reviewer, photographer and all-round good guy at the House photographer for The Academy Music Group, Zuma Press, Event Magazine and Rex Features worldwide. You can check out his photography at Andy Von Pip Photography Has been new music tipster on BBC6 Music, Amazing Radio, and DJ on Strangeways Radio (USA.) Can currently be heard on IWFM Radio. His radio work has been described as sounding like Ian McCulloch on ketamine fused with Ringo Starr. New music tipster on Amazing Radio, moderator for BBC 6 Music DJ Tom Robinson's Fresh on the Net, former member of "BBC's Sound Of" panel. Written and photographic work has appeared in The Quietus, Music Week, Record Of The Day, The Guardian, GIITV, The Sabotage Times, Bido Lito, The Skinny, Louder Than War. Media partner and curator for Liverpool Sound City.


  1. The impending Frank Black produced Art Brut album is much anticipated. If “Alcoholics Unanimous” is any indication of what the whole album will sound like, then check me out of “the Sober House” (bye Steven Adler – you were a cool roomate Wink ) and get me back on the hell bound train!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.