TRACK OF THE DAY (2) – TORRES – ‘Strange Hellos’

Brooklyn based artist (by way of Nashville Mackenzie Scott aka Torres makes a blistering return with ‘Strange Hellos,’ the first track to emerge from her second album ‘Sprinter’  which was recorded in Dorset, England; and then at the Bristol studio of Portishead’s Adrian Utley. It’s due for release on May 18th via Partisan Records.

Don’t be fooled by the track’s low key start, as it quickly detonates into life, replete with an impassioned visceral snarling vocal, a dirty distorted guitar and lyrics which snap from playful to acerbic in a heartbeat.  ‘Strange Hellos’ has a fuller sound than the beautifully crafted introspective narratives of her debut album and this in no way lessens the impact or the intimacy.  In fact, the impression you’re left with is Torres is set to release an album that will scale new emotional and artistic heights.  Her powerful honeyed vocals can spit out lines dripping with venom or console with breathtaking tenderness and honesty.  Moreover, it’s this juxtaposition of sentiment, the intelligent, poetic emotionally raw lyrics, and the fact that she can certainly write damn fine tunes that mark her out as a very special artist indeed.

Facebook | Website | Twitter


Album Track List

1. Strange Hellos
2. New Skin
3. Son, You Are No Island
4. A Proper Polish Welcome
5. Sprinter
6. Cowboy Guilt
7. Ferris Wheel
8. The Harshest Light
9. The Exchange

Pre-order Sprinter on CD/LP HERE.
Pre-order Sprinter on iTunes HERE.

1 thought on “TRACK OF THE DAY (2) – TORRES – ‘Strange Hellos’”

Leave a Reply